The Jules Letters: The beginning

 

letters01.jpg picture by pemerytx

 

 

This is a recital of a few events that occurred around the time my dear friend Jules discovered “A Year to Live” by Stephen Levine.  The day she finished reading it she told me that all its content was mystically stirring to her, but that she was most enthralled by the notion of sending letters, either physically or cosmically, to those, either alive or dead, with whom you have unresolved issues. 

 

Jules had no death sentence close at hand that she was aware of, and truly she was interested in a clean universal slate, but most strongly and immediately she desired to test the notion of cosmic letter-sending in general.

 

She felt within her a sense that the concept was workable, was true, although it was hard to tell how much of this sense was fueled by childhood stories of messages in bottles and how much was being received through the airwaves in real time.  Certainly, movies like “Message in a Bottle,” with Costner and Robin Penn, did little to support a nonsubjective position.

 

But the overall feeling that grew on Jules after a week of pondering the concept, led to a fevered belief that she could speak letters into the wind and that those letters would hit their mark, would reach the hearts of their intended recipients, and be translated into an understanding.  And she felt certain that the translation of her words would include her name, perhaps whispered, as a signature flourished in the air.

 

So very shortly after that week of pondering, she called me up very early one morning, overly excited.  She’d finally decided on the recipient of her first letter to the wind, had composed it loosely in her head, and wanted me to come over that evening to be a witness to its dispatching to the airwaves.

 

You may detect a little tongue-in-cheek flavor in the way I’m writing about Jules, but it’s only an awkward attempt at objectivity.  Perhaps I need to dispense with that and maybe I will, for the telling of this story, if I tell it all to you, promises to take a few writing sessions.

 

Truth is, I believe the same as Jules, basically, and was glad to oblige her a visit that evening.  In fact, I’d like to share with you her first letter to the wind, for it went out on the breeze to a potential love of Jules’ and today is Valentine’s Day, which is what reminded me of Jules and this experience in the first place.  I know that Jules wouldn’t mind.

 

I won’t write anything after the letter, for it would surely be malapropos, and perhaps I’ll return later with more.  The first letter went something like this:

 

Dear Terry,

 

Ever since meeting you that day, I’ve thought of you off and on.  I hear that you ask about me every now and again, as if bookmarking time, and I wonder if you think, because you never hear back, that I never think about you.  I’m telling you now that I do.

 

Why do I want you to know that even though a continued story for us is unlikely?  I suppose because I am grateful.  You advanced me in many ways that day, and I feel that I did the same for you, too, and that is why you ask after me, and that is why I think of you.  The human brain wants more from whence something good came, but the heart knows the truth of how life must unfold.  To send word back might encourage you and my heart holds me back for reasons it knows.  And I trust it. 

 

In that sense, the purest, most distilled sense of love, I do think of you and care about you and know how valuable you are in the world.  

 

Sincerely,

Jules

 

 

Fini 

 

PHOTO CREDIT:

 

Wind turbines snagged from http://photos.upi.com/story/w/fa8384d34362497e6d9f0ce14daa1381/US_Energy_Department_to_push_wind_power.jpg

 

 

I visited Floreta’s site on 2/12, did a little catching up on back posts, and commented on her “Learning to Love You More” post.  In Floreta’s back posts was “Letters – Past”  which affected me and must have been working in my head such that when I sat down today to write as an exercise, not originally intended to be a post, I found that the idea of “Letters – Past” had intermingled with my experience of reading Stephen Levine’s “A Year to Live.”  That, in turn, must have got all balled up with this, from Floreta’s “Learning to Love You More” post:  The best art and writing is almost like an assignment; it is so vibrant that you feel compelled to make something in response. Suddenly it is clear what you have to do.  So if any of you enjoyed this post, thank Floreta for what compelled this.

 

More on “A Year to Live” here

 

More on the movie “Message in a Bottle” here

 

13 responses to “The Jules Letters: The beginning

  1. Pingback: 10 Megawatt Superconductor Turbines on Their Way | Wind Energy … | Earth4Energysun.com·

  2. Ms A: This whole business of blogging is certainly a bit of a message in a bottle, even if, after a while, as little tribes grow, we come to see more clearly if our aim is true. The gathering aims have certainly been a blessing in my life.

    I did not detect any tongue in cheek on the narrator’s part, though I was happy enough for her to dispense with what she may have perceived as an unnecessary mask of her own sympathies with Jules’ project.

    It’s a sweet sweet sweethearted Valentine post, capped off with Jules’ own spoken words. I love the discovered notion of speaking letters into the wind, the “fevered belief.” Not a difficult notion to wrap one’s heart and mind around at all, since we all in this tribe feel the love and thoughts and good words you send out to us daily…

    Just as we hope you feel and “hear” ours. Love, paschal.

  3. RE: 10 MEGAWATT…
    I’m all for wind power so I’ll leave this pingback here as a bookmark in time.

    ____________________

    PASCHAL
    What an equally sweet sweethearted review! So clear, so true. Thank you : ) And I think to add any more words to this whisper of boundless appreciation, would maybe not be malapropos but certainly unnecessary : )

  4. Yes, yes, “that those letters would hit their mark, would reach the hearts of their intended recipients, and be translated into an understanding” yes!

    Oh, to be seen and heard (translated) in a clear and unobstructed way through letters in the wind.

    I’d better get to it as I have a few to write… :)

  5. Oh, I loved this… and once again, you’ve sent me all across the Internet to read new writers, consider new ideas, refresh my old worn perspectives. You got me thinking, and that always makes me feel a little bit more alive.

    Your letter, though: straight as an arrow, a direct hit to the hear. Words take mind and soul and breath to release; once spoken, though, they leave a vacancy, sometimes frightening, but also offering the possibility of suddenly available real estate. Like Present, there are probably a few such letters of my own to write…

  6. PRESENT
    Amen, sister! I’m glad this got some yeses out of you. True yeses are delicious : )

    ____________________

    ANNO
    And I loved the inspired words of your second paragraph, the second sentence. Thank you : )

  7. oh, thank you for the credit! and i’m happy that some mixture of learning to love you more and my posts could inspire you! nice letter.. succint. i know loves like this.

  8. FLORETA
    Life’s funny, floors me in some way just about every day, what with all the connections going on—the minds-links between ideas, emotions, actions, loves… It’s endless. Thanks for coming by to see the fruits of the linked labors : )

  9. letters. i email them, and send hand written ones…letters spelled out in a fountain pen on good paper… to those i love.

    i enjoyed this piece very much… and envy the way you craft a short story.

  10. QUIN BROWNE
    That’s nice, especially the way you do the hand written ones : ) Back when I was less cynical than I am now, I used to add to a hand written letter a wax seal on the envelope. It was such a dreamy thing to do… Sigh
    Ah well, back to business. Of course it’s OK to put me on the FMD list! I’m honoured, in fact. I need to put you here, too, because you’ve got a good thing going on over there!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.