the inanity of E

A-to-Z_E_blk_berto
Image of Juliet Berto, credit Jonathan Rosenbaum

Welcome, Ladies and Gentlemen, to the fifth of twenty-six interactive magic tricks that will lead you to your fortune as you determine it.

a-to-z_directionsAs per the 21 March intro to this magic act, my assistant, Juliet Berto, handed me the Collins Concise* and blindfold me, whereupon I randomly riffled through the E’s and landed my fingertip randomly on a page. And when Juliet removed the blindfold, there was no doubt: my fingertip was squarely on “Endanger.”

And while Juliet was offstage conjuring the banner you see at the top of this post, I wildly jotted down the paragraph below in the Moment Of Meant To Be.** Now, the rest of this trick is up to you, Ladies and Gents!

If it pleases you, merely read the paragraph and record what predominant meaning the sum of those words strikes in your heart. And for every trick after this, from F to Z, you may do the same. And when I have pulled from the hat the essence of the random word of Z, and you have pondered its significance, you may allow the accumulative magic of all tricks A-Z to reveal to you your fortune.

 


THE “E” PARAGRAPH: Endanger

Medrod is a stranger on the horizon of his mind. His recollection has shrunk to the size of a dime, barely enough to get by on. He wakes every morning at nine, to an alarm clock he’s forgotten how to work. Every door he opens is a portal to a new dimension, an extension of space and time, yet both are lost on him. Out of habit he staggers to the bathroom door. Today it opened on the blinding lights of a lab, all stainless steel and porcelain. A pathologist looked up from a body on an autopsy table and said, “Medrod, take care not to endanger your mind.” Medrod turned away quickly and moved to the sink. His hands found the familiar things, and he looked for an omen in his eyes in the mirror as he shaved – the image just stared. He shrugged and showered, followed the usual route to the clothes closet door. It opened on a den of portly trolls. They’d eaten all the other folk who’d entered there before, put their brains on sticks and draped their skins over racks to dry. Medrod slammed the door shut. He made haste to the living room and found King Arthur there, sitting upon the couch with his feet up on a massive round table and a bowl of dry Fruit Loops in his lap. “Cheerio, old boy,” the king said. “Fetch me some milk like a good chap, will you?” Medrod followed the usual route to the kitchen, a dimly lit cantina with a disco ball and Johnny Cash playing on the jukebox. He headed for the fridge, cut a path through a mixed crowd of drunks, and bikers and wheeler-dealers. The bartender looked up and smiled. Out of habit, Medrod asked for a whiskey. The bartender poured him a glass of milk and pushed it toward him, “Medrod, take care not to endanger your mind.” Medrod shrugged, took the milk and headed back to Camelot.


 

Share your predominant thought with the audience or keep it a secret. As always, it’s entirely up to you.

Until next time, look for the magic and you will find it!

 

Fin

DON’T MISS A TRICK!

The Grand Reveal – 21 March 2014
Trick A – Albanian – 1 April 2014
Trick B – Black Forest – 2 April 2014
Trick C – Claw – 3 April 2014
Trick D – Docket – 4 April 2014

 

* The Collins Concise Dictionary Of The English Language, Second Edition 1988, Collins – London and Glasgow

**the Moment Of Meant To Be is the instant of lucidness that arises from the contemplation of any given thing and subsequently reveals the essence of it. These Moments will be dashed off in paragraphs of 200 words or less and may be dark or shining, delirious or rational, but each paragraph will stir thoughts and feelings that lead to a meaning unique to you.

16 responses to “the inanity of E

    • That has been such a fun part of this and I make such a big deal of it – folks would crack up if they saw me. Thanks for the all-caps compliment :-D

    • It’s mutual. I mean, I was going to say the same thing to you, only with the f-word because Americans sound silly saying bloody : )

    • I’m so glad you came by, Jemima. I was at Debi O’Neille’s place and saw your comment about a guinea pig in a fedora, which is something I’d like to see! Back to poor Medrod, though, I believe you’re right, subconsciously he is, and though his brain seems so fried, well, the brain’s an amazing thing…

    • How funny! The trolls are a big hit, I mean just the word “troll” gets me to rolling on the floor laughing. Haven’t been sparked with the urge to go in search of Fruit Loops, though….yet…

    • Testing 1, 2, 3….check… check… check…
      Right, it’s me…trying to fit the kitchen sink into A to Z :-D

  1. I guess the warning came too late! Wish I had Johnny Cash playing on the jukebox in my kitchen. If I had been Medrod I could’ve lived with it all except for the trolls. This is fun!

    • Well I hate to say… While I feel Jemima’s right, I am, after all, a glass-is-half-empty kinda gal… And I fear you’re ultimately right… But one never knows until they know, by golly… But yes, trolls in the house…must be more annoying than cockroaches: vile, must be exterminated!

    • Heh funny…and really, that’s a mouthful of truth inasmuch as human existence is concerned!

Leave a Reply

