the beauty of B

A-to-Z_B_bt_berto-final
Image of Juliet Berto, credit Jonathan Rosenbaum

Welcome, Ladies and Gentlemen, to the second of twenty-six interactive magic tricks that will lead you to your fortune as you determine it.

To begin, then!

a-to-z_directionsAs per the 21 March intro to this magic act, my assistant, the talented Juliet Berto, handed me the Collins Concise* and blindfold me, whereupon I randomly riffled through the B’s and landed my fingertip randomly on a page. And when Juliet removed the blindfold, I was surprised after yesterday’s word “Albanian,” to see the tip of my finger pointing to “Black Forest,” another geographical location in Europe. Clearly, magic is at work, some plan is being made known. Very exciting!

Black Forest n. the. a hilly wooded region of SW West Germany.

And while Juliet was offstage conjuring the banner you see at the top of this post, I wildly jotted down the paragraph below in the Moment Of Meant To Be**. Now the rest is up to you, Ladies and Gents!

If it pleases you, merely read the paragraph and record what predominant meaning the sum of those words strikes in your heart. And for every trick after this, from C to Z, you may do the same. And when I have pulled from the hat the essence of the random word of Z, and you have pondered its significance, you may allow the accumulative magic of all tricks A-Z to reveal to you your fortune.

 


THE “B” PARAGRAPH: Black Forest

Before I was here, you were there snatching Soviet code from the air.  Before the confluence of rivers coughed me up and the damage began.  Oh you should have run! Now, what’s done is done.  I’m here and you’re not.  Take me to the land of cuckoo clocks, away from the feigning light.  The white horse is a lie.  Take me to the pitch black forest on the back of danger in plain sight of the rusty eye.  I want to make it up to you, crumb by crumb, before I die.  It is and it isn’t too late to know something more, to stay awake, experience something bigger—maybe the whole cake—before I die, to be more than a killer of spiders and flies, to be a bold spirit on the highest shelf, fascinated by more than myself.  Don’t let me fall asleep to the rhythm of mechanization, of white noise, or fall prey to the demons in my head!  Before I’m dead, I want to make it up to you.


 

Share your predominant thought with the audience or keep it a secret. As always, it’s entirely up to you.

Until next time, look for the magic and you will find it!

 

Fin

DON’T MISS A TRICK!

The Grand Reveal – 21 March 2014
Trick A – Albanian – 1 April 2014

 

* The Collins Concise Dictionary Of The English Language, Second Edition 1988, Collins – London and Glasgow

**the Moment Of Meant To Be is the instant of lucidness that arises from the contemplation of any given thing and subsequently reveals the essence of it. These Moments will be dashed off in paragraphs of 200 words or less and may be dark or shining, delirious or rational, but each paragraph will stir thoughts and feelings that lead to a meaning unique to you.

10 responses to “the beauty of B

  1. I love this theme! I’ll be here like clockwork every day to find my fortune :) My insight has to do with loss, and recovery–potential recovery, mind you. There’s mountains to cross and rivers to swim, cliffs to climb and… and highways to hitchhike, or whatever, but… There’s hope. There, at the end of the journey, there *is* hope.

    Excitingggggg!
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    • A most inspiriting take on the B-paragraph, Guilie – I dig your positive energy! Thanks so much for visiting : )

    • There’s that analytical mind of yours at work, Yolanda – I like it! A fine take on the daily turquoise blurb : )

  2. Ah! I love your writing! It’s so descriptive. You paint great pictures with your words. It’s just eloquent. I’m hooked.

    • A gushing thank you, Elle (my ego loves you) and I’ve so much enjoyed your erratic projects : )

    • Thank you, EllaDee – the “pretty words” bit has been duly noted :-) and I love the What If? factor of your take on the turquoise blurb : )

Leave a Reply

