Human gods, final part 3: The reality of it (gods in our midst)

 

… The theme is always the same underneath any topic.  Being awed by greatness, seeking it in myself, not finding, crying, dying, being doused with hope, by what? by who?, and waking, shaking it off, lifting my head and doing it all again…

 

Finding the greatness in us, finding the excellence, how is that done?  If it’s not glaringly apparent as it was for Rupert Murdoch, Andre Agassi, Bill Gates, “my buddy” Yngwie Malmsteen and the like, and also for the occasional ones we know in our small worlds, how do we find it?  Where is it?  It seems it must be there, because something within us keeps telling us we’re special in some way.

 

It isn’t just the egoic trinity telling us this is it?  And by “trinity” I’m referring to the ego and its sidekicks, the id and the super-ego.  That would seem not what we want because these three yahoos are not to be trusted completely.  All the id wants is immediate needs-gratification; the superego is all uptight about internalized ideas we’ve gotten from our parents and from society and it busies itself with trying to keep the id and the ego in moral check; and the ego says Screw morality, it’s all about reality and proceeds with its bullheaded bias to mediate the demands of the id and the superego.  What a mess!  It’s a comedic absurdity.

 

Isn’t is just like a human, then, to feel certain this ridiculousness couldn’t possibly be the reason for something so seriously important as our greatness?  I’m laughing so hard I can barely type this.  We want our feeling of specialness, our yearning for excellence to be not in our heads but to have something to do with a god connection.  And maybe it does.  How can we know?  How can we come to a conclusion either way but to study further, about the three P’s (psychology philosophy, and physiology) and spirituality, and combine what we’ve learned with our intuition which is what most of are doing already anyway? 

 

And we’re back to square one.  We’re born, we’re conditioned by parents and society, we learn things and skills, we get a job to pay the bills or someone or the government supports us, and we wonder if we can be more, great even. 

 

In my cluelessness, on top of just working to pay the bills, I prefer the painful role of Ponderer, but if I wasn’t committed to that agonizing path, I have a feeling the easiest way to forget our human problems right quick and to blossom in magnanimous greatness is to dive straight into a role where we’re assisting others or facilitating some cause that makes life better, makes the world a better place.  And I’m not talking pain-level-easiness, I’m talking no-looking-back-easiness, the easiness of jumping off the dock instead of edging into the water inch by cold, slow inch.

 

Like anyone who believed the ads that they could be all they could be and joined the armed services, straight into the icy water, Navy water.   I watched parts of the recent PBS series “Carrier” and that heart place in me was hit again, just the same as it was listening to and watching Yngwie Malmsteen play. 

 

Aboard the USS Nimitz are the youngest of our country’s adults.  They’ve just left the house and they’re engaged in some of the hardest, most demanding work to be had.  They’re being honed, crafted every day.  A few came aboard with a clue and the smarts to back it up, beginning careers as pilots, officers, and the like.  Most chose the Navy because their families had no money to send them to college and told them to get out of the house and go do something with themselves.  Many came from really bad situations, irresponsible families doing or selling drugs, abusing their kids.  But they all joined out of a need to be something special to someone, to others, to the world, to become something greater than they felt they currently were.

 

The human part is the daily grind, the gossip, playing the game to increase rank, grappling with internal demons.  The god part is in the eyes of those very same young people, where we find that link to our own hearts, and then we’re listening to their words of hard-earned wisdom with more than just our ears.  And as the 5000 crewmembers of the USS Nimitz man the rails of the 4.5 acre deck in preparation to depart a port, we see them with more than eyes.  All over most of their faces is the thing that oozes out of a successfully in-progress human who’s being crafted for the better, a look of wellbeing from a sense of accomplishment.

 

The civilians on land cheer, clap, and wave their support for the human gods high up above on the deck.  Despite where they came from and why, they’re prepared to do for the USA what’s required of them and they’re leaving the known to do the unknown.  Now they’re the gods on the stage doing what we maybe dare not, cannot, should not, or are not equipped to do.

 

 

What is greatness to you?  Do you have a model of it?  What does it look like?

 

Do you feel the stirring to that greatness?  Or perhaps just to do more, be more?

 

If so, what form does that take?  And how are you doing at it?

 

 

PHOTO CREDITS:

 

USNavy070 – Carrier hull – Manning the rails

http://www.defenselink.mil/dodcmsshare/homepagephoto/2007-11/hires_071127-N-0483B-003a.jpg

 

USNavyUSSNimitz01 – Manning the rails

http://photos.signonsandiego.com/gallery1.5/albums/012408/HLnimitz282056x006.thumb.jpg

 

USNavy04 – Crowd waving – Guided missile destroyer, USS Mason

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:vCZ7VIv4NfN4aM:http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve

 

USNavy08 – fighters

Link to be added later

 

USNavyUSSNimitz05-1 – fighters

Link to be added later

 

Fini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Human gods, final part 3: The reality of it (gods in our midst)

  1. How many times have I told you you ask the toughest questions? 10 already? Ooh that much?

    I suppose greatness for me is doing what you want to do, aspiring to become each day more like yourself. At least these are the kind of people that I admire: independent, unique, not a care for what other people think. I wonder where this shows up in the astrological chart…
    Naturally, I aspire to become more like the people I admire. I suppose we always admire what we don’t have and we try to achieve that.

    I recognise that inner wish to be god-like and special, I think perhaps it was more present when we were younger, as the super-ego wasn’t so heavy on our backs ;) These days I have consciously given that up, which doesn’t mean my Id isn’t still sighing about it…

  2. Just as the more difficult thing than being honest with others is the being honest with oneself, likewise, ambition and accomplishment are trumped by ‘the enlightened acceptence of reality stripped of illusion’. I imagine being a peon, (even a Peon I Class) on a flat top could help many to ease out of the ego self- but anything we do to overcome or work through our personal fear is, I think, Great. More than striving to be God-like, I aspire to be Life-like.

  3. oh ho, theres more profound stuff from you missalister, you aimply blow me away…i been neck deep in work and i come here to see i have missed out quite a bit. don’t know how soon i can come back, but i want to :)
    and while i go away, i’m going to wonder – at why you have described the role of Ponderer as painful?

    oh, and i agree with one thing completely – the role – life is worth living when we have a purpose that goes beyond ourselves. the sweet joy of nothingness :)

  4. Devil Mood: the questions, yes, I know. I really need to stop it. And maybe I will some day because I’m with you 100% regarding more, yes even more, of your wisdom (which I love btw!), “aspiring to become each day more like yourself.” That’s it, I recognize. Which must account for my push toward taking cues from my intuition, as I mentioned in reference to your Venus/Libra piece. Ahhhh, yes, I foresee a silence here inasmuch as futile questions go. I foresee nothing but depth in non-fiction here. And if I feel a failing in that area, if my superego can’t keep it together, my ego will express its angst in a nasty job of a fiction piece like SS#111, and my Id will sigh along with yours ;-)

    Bass: what a guru god mouthful, the acceptance of reality stripped of illusion! oh if only…but only to the degree that I can deal with the stuff I want to be able to deal with better. Full guru, full enlightenment, to be able to accept every brass tacks thing would mean the absence of the ego which in turn would mean non-experience of some polarities that are delicious… Your alternative is much like Devil Mood’s and I’m all for that, for being more like the life I am.

    Hey there, Dharmabum! Thank you for your compliment. My ego loves you dearly : )
    I hear you re: the work bit. My Time post speaks for me in that respect. I can’t do it all either.
    Good point about the Ponderer business. It’s all because I attribute more to the word “ponder” than is meant to be attributed. I go from merely weighing something carefully, thoroughly, to identifying with it. And there are so many weighty things that can hurt you if you think you own them. I guess that’s it. But you see in the thing you liked best about this part 3, the purpose beyond ourselves, that I know the truth : ) Learning to ride the bike…

Leave a Reply

