Sunday Scribblings – Otherworldly bad news

“Maybe this world is another planet’s Hell.” Aldous Huxley

Hmmm…let’s see what’s been going on here on Earth in the last 12 hours… 

Police: Five dead in plane crash south of London A small plane crashed into several homes in a neighborhood outside London Sunday afternoon, killing all five on board, Scotland Yard reported. 

Firefighters battle Ocean City blaze

Black in America: Eyewitness to Murder: The King Assassination CNN Presents: Black in America: Eyewitness to Murder: The King Assassination premieres on April 3, 2008 from 9:00 — 11:00 p.m. ET on CNN

McCain on Romney  GOP candidate Sen. John McCain speaks about Mitt Romney and Gov. Jon Huntsman Jr. in Salt Lake City, Utah. From KSL

McCain looks ahead as Dems duke it out Sen. John McCain this week begins a bus tour of five states that he says helped shape his views and make him the politician who will carry the GOP torch in the upcoming presidential election.

Rep. Lewis: Race controversy good for dialogue Civil rights icon Rep. John Lewis suggested Sunday the controversy over Sen. Barack Obama’s former pastor has reignited a conversation about race that could ultimately be beneficial for the country.

Zimbabwe opposition claims early victory Defying a government order, Zimbabwe’s main opposition party released its election results Sunday, claiming an early victory for their presidential candidate.

Behind the scenes with Obama  Go behind the scenes as Sen. Barack Obama tours a dairy complex at Penn State University in Pennsylvania.

Cheetahs attack woman at cat sanctuary The owner of a wildlife sanctuary was attacked by two cheetahs Saturday and hospitalized with about 40 puncture wounds to her extremities and back, authorities said.

Al-Sadr calls off fighting amid airstrikes, crackdown Shiite cleric Muqtada al-Sadr told his followers to stop fighting and to cooperate with Iraqi security forces Sunday, as U.S. and Iraqi forces targeted his Mehdi Army in Basra and Baghdad.

LA Times apologizes  Showbiz Tonight’s Brooke Anderson has the latest stories making headlines in entertainment.

Elephants caucus for candidates  Four elephants determine the next president of the United States.

Olympic torch protest  Tibetan exiles in Munich, Germany, carry symbolic flame to mock the official Olympic torch.

Running of the ‘wools’  Nearly two thousand sheep race along the streets in Waikato, New Zealand, to imitate Pamplona’s running of the bulls.

Militia violence continues in Iraq  Militia fighters celebrate following clashes in the streets of Basra.

Tibet speaker: Dalai Lama not behind riots The speaker of the Tibetan parliament-in-exile denied China’s allegations that the Dalai Lama and his supporters instigated recent riots in the Himalayan region and said a “brutal” crackdown by Chinese security forces was continuing.

Hockey team bus fire  The Portland Pirates’ bus burst a tire then caught fire on its way to a minor league hockey game in Providence, RI.

Campaign standoff  Hillary Clinton has no intention of dropping out of the presidential race, as CNN’s Jim Acosta reports.

Zimbabwean exiles  Three million Zimbabweans are scattered around the world. CNN’s Atia Abawi reports each one has a story of pain…and hope.

Rice gains ‘concrete steps’ from Israel, Palestinians Israel and the Palestinians agreed Sunday to a series of “concrete steps” aimed at paving the way for a final peace agreement later this year, beginning with Israel’s pledge to remove some West Bank roadblocks.

Texas Showdown  Supporters of Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton endured marathon conventions Saturday across Texas. KVUE’s Elise Hu reports.

Singing for Votes  Which music stars have lined up behind the candidates in the presidential race? CNN’s Josh Levs reports.

Brief scuffle at Olympic torch relay The Beijing Olympics torch relay reached the ancient Acropolis on Saturday amid heavy police security and brief demonstrations by small groups of protesters.

Obama Goes Bowling for Votes  Democratic Presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama spends time bowling in Altoona, Pennsylvania.

Tibetans and police clash  Police in Nepal dragged and beat some of the 200 Tibetan exiles that protested outside the Chinese embassy in Kathmandu.

North Korea warns South of ‘pre-emptive strike’ North Korea threatened South Korea with destruction Sunday after Seoul’s top military officer said he would consider attacking the communist nation if it tried to carry out a nuclear attack.

New era under ‘open skies’  CNN’s Richard Quest reports from the first trans-Atlantic flight under the new ‘Open Skies’ agreement

Pulpit politics  CNN’s Rick Sanchez talks with his panel about the latest in the controversy surrounding Rev. Jeremiah Wright.

What an utterly absurd mix of ridiculousness!  Maybe Aldous Huxley is right.  Because if we were to judge by the offerings of CNN and all the other world news reports—Reuters, World News, BBC News—which are all similar on any given day, most of us would come away with that assessment, that Huxley is right. 

Is it any wonder that blackness, darkness continues to appear to pervade our world when reports ad nauseum are in front of our faces for consideration every morning in papers and all day on the radio and TV?  It seems a barrage of badness, it seems Darth Vader enforcing the Galactic Empire’s rule every hour of every day of every year.   

It’s tempting to say we are being programmed to see only bad, but for the fact that “we” are the ones that seem to be doing the programming, we are the ones appearing to gravitate to the dark side by doing the dark deeds and choosing the predominantly lightless mainstream media fare.  But then how is it that “we” are also the same ones that know not only bad things are happening in our world?

How is it that a faction of “we” already chooses to look for the good things going on?  But how many are the ones that choose to spread the message of the goodness that already exists and the goodness that has an amazing potential to exist?  What is the actual count within “we” that chooses to do good things to bolster the wellbeing of ourselves and others every single day?  Are there not enough to tip the scales?  

What is “good” and what is “bad,” anyway?  Whether or not we truly know appears to matter little when the majority of us seem to agree on the definitions, yet still we seem too few or too powerless to tip the scales.  Perhaps they are being tipped only we can’t quite see evidence of it yet.

What is the true balance of good to bad?   It appears heavy on the dark side.  We know this is a world of opposites, of polarity—of hope and despair, beauty and ugliness, freedom and imprisonment—so we might not expect to eradicate everthing we label as “bad,” but might we expect to visibly tip the scales such that things look even, or maybe edge over substantially on the good side?

Can we expect and effect world news reports that feature more edifying headlines than ruinous ones?  And I’m not talking about stuff like “Dave Stewart, Nokia envision brave new mobile world” and “Museums exhibit high-tech appeal.”  I’m talking about the BIG CHANGE stuff, the Mother Teresa stuff, the Mahatma Ghandi stuff, like “Teenager spreads hope to children in need,” “Earth Hour Goes Global,” and “World governments start talks on climate change agreement.”  If we can’t expect and effect monumental greater good, why not?  And might the answers to “why not?” yield the most helpful clues to avenues of change?

 

Do you have a new idea to tip the scales to good that you’re pursuing and/or promoting?

Do you already support existing solutions that sound good to you, that are designed to make this planet seem a little more like Heaven? 

Do you believe that if we band together for the cause of good vibes, good world, that we can be successful? 

 

Photo above from Getty Images

“The Last 24hrs” CNN news list above was clipped from http://www.cnn.com/24hours/ at 5pm ET.

Click here for more on “Prompt #104 – Out of this World” from other Sunday Scribblings participants. 

13 responses to “Sunday Scribblings – Otherworldly bad news

  1. There is an old trick question asking “which weighs more, a pound of feathers or a pound of lead?”. Well, logic reveals the answer to that one. But if the question were, perhaps, “which is heavier, weightier, more substantial, a cubic foot of ‘darkness’ or a cubic foot of ‘lightness’ ?” logic cannot answer, but there is a feeling that the negative more easily tips the scales. Maybe that reveals a view that the ‘good’ is obtained under strain and the ‘bad’ more easily come by, or maybe we are by nature ‘problem solvers/problem creators’ and haven’t yet learned that they are one in the same ! ?

  2. What is good or bad is a question I find myself wondering about often here in blog-land, because it’s frequent that I find posts that celebrate or condemn certain things that I’m not too sure about. Usually I end up saying I don’t believe in polarities per se and that I’m a grey-kind-of-person. No black. No white.

    Bad and ridiculous things sell more, elephants voting, evil dictators. Fortunately there seems to be a new media trend that highlights the good news. Some publications only write about progress. But again, there should probably be a balance between the two.

    I think Sunday Scribblings can be an example for good vibes. :)

  3. Wow – i found this right on target. It might seem cheezy but the points you bring up are the very reason why I’ve banded together to read Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth with Oprah –she may be dismissed as a ‘rich ____’ or whatever they call her around your parts – But I respect her choices, here is a person using their funds, time and energy towards shifting human consciousness to greater meaning and creating a better place. Inevitably, it seems that there cannot be one (good) without the other (bad) and since the beginning of our existence we have always had to create ‘the other’ but in recognizing our behavior patterns and in genuinely wanting to seek out a ‘better’ world we can surpass economic boundaries and create a world of sustenance and harmony. Great post.

  4. You guys are brilliant! When I posted this I thought how darkish overall it is… Will people think I’m focusing on darkness which would be contradicting myself, or will they get the play, the spur to thought that pings off darkness, the invitation to lightness? And you came through with the most wonderful thoughts of scale-tipping lightness!

    Bass: You’re absolutely right in that purely logically you can’t weigh dark and light, and the fact that my personal attitude toward darkness makes it seem heavier, weightier, says to me it’s a matter of the make-up of one’s psyche, one’s view on a glass as half full or half empty. So for me bad is surely easier, but for some sunshiny folks I know it’d be the opposite. Ultimately, I think you are spot on with the problem solver/creator theory which is echoed in Amarettogirl’s comment.
    But the introduction of ease is a bit bothersome, and that hasn’t been answered here. Why is bad easy? Why is it easier? Why does it seem to take little to no effort? As an example, say we know we should visit or help someone (and the majority agrees visiting and helping are good things) and we’ve gotten great “heart rewards” from doing so before, but it’s easier to stay home, to not do it… What’s your take on that?

    Devil Mood: good example with the blog sites. The ones that celebrate something, I may either be moved to agree or roll my eyes, but I do know not to knock something entirely if I haven’t tried it! That’s not exactly grey, though, and I’m certainly not grey when it comes to the condemning sites. I’ve seen some sites so incredibly negative that even if I see hints of good points, I have to get out of there fast because I’m so affected, so turned off! So it’s good to be grey, to be an objective observer—less traumatic and more spiritual, more light!
    Now tell me Devil, where oh where are those publications that only write about progress?!!! I agree that balance is best, but you know, I’d just like to feast my eyes on some good stuff! I need to balance myself after writing this post! LOL!
    And you are right on about SS. That is a movement by two writers that is for the good of the world indeed!

    Amarettogirl: I’m so glad you stopped by. I’ve been really enjoying the feel of your blog site lately. And I see lots in common—last name, art, writing, dogs, to name but a few—so I find myself gravitating toward it.
    I was glowing reading what you wrote on Tolle and Oprah! Eckhart Tolle is one of the reasons I’m not a total mess ;-) I read his “The Power of Now” in 2000 and I am so incredibly glad I am not my mind! I get that 100% along with so much in that book. I haven’t read “A new Earth” yet but I will. I am surprised that he would go so mainstream as to hook up with Oprah, though, but it’s just that, surprise. It’s the contrast that amuses me I think. Eckhart Tolle is so small, so quiet, and he sends his immensely powerful vibes for humanity’s good out into the universe changing it that way. And Oprah is a bullhorn for humanity backed by big bucks and changing our world for good by storm! LOL! So I guess in a way that could be a perfect team! So no, not cheesy! And yes, if you’re with them, you’re with the best, you have indeed banded together for good, and just knowing all that lightens me to glowing with hope :-)

  5. we are surrounded by darkness but we are little sources of light, so if we band together our light gets stronger, that’s what i believe and it is a bit pseudo poetic but i do believe it and i think physics support my theory too :P

  6. MY friend, I’m afraid your blog ate my comment TWICE last night and I can-not deal ;P
    I had posted a list of happy news sites for you to visit but wordpress was simply mean. Apparently it doesn’t like happy sites.
    But if you google good-news you’ll find the links I was telling you about.

  7. Devil: oh dear! Although in general I’m not entirely technologically savvy and therefore I’m all the more clueless as to what’s up with WordPress’ insolence, I feel the need to apologize for the irritation its bad behavior caused you! ;-) I’d have been beside myself, if my own ordeal last night involving the USPO, address changes, and credit cards is any indication of my BS tolerance limits. Not very high, not good! Anyway, I did the good news search as you said and How Utterly, Totally, Cool! This is exactly the thing I need! Why didn’t I think of this? Downed by too much negativity??? Say, I’ll think do a quick post on this topic courtesy of you and in an effort to get lighter and fluffier as I mentioned in my comment on your “ahhhhhhh” post! (This does not mean I no longer need to know your blogging secrets!)

  8. I have no blogging secrets! Honest. But your blog is envious because it just ate my comment to your latest post, AGAIN!

    I had written another happy news web address in that comment – Do you suppose it recognizes and eliminates the posts that look like spam? Just a wild idea…

  9. Ah you sly Devil! I understand… My dog is the same way. When I ask him how it is that he’s so cute and to tell me his secrets, he won’t say! ;-)

    Not so wild, your spam-catching idea… I called to the blog, went behind the scenes, and caught it chewing, text spilling out of its greedy jowls. It looked up with those big brown I’m-so-sorry-do-you-love-me-anyway? eyes. DROP IT! OK, your comments have been released :)

  10. Wow, I am smart after all! I didn’t know WordPress could do that! Maybe I’m not smart, I’m just psychic ;)

    And you just killed me with that dog observation LOL Really amusing! hahaahah

  11. Devil: you are both, my dear, smart AND psychic!
    Now, are you absolutely positive you won’t share your secret(s) for light and fluffly blog posts that enrapture readers??? Tell me it’s more than your KIS DNA!
    ;-)

Leave a Reply

