Can ANYONE successfully work the LOA?

Photo from stock.xchng (http://www.sxc.hu/)

Taken by Dovile Cizaite (http://www.sxc.hu/profile/Peleda)

You’ve heard of the Law of Attraction (LOA) by now, no doubt. If it somehow escaped your attention, it’s this: like attracts like. Applied specifically to humans it’s this: we bring about what we think predominantly and most strongly about. If you want more of a fanfare, go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_attraction and get a dose of TMI.  I can’t deal with it right now.
.
Those who know the LOA know the controversy surrounding it: is it scientific law or not, does it work or not? For La-la Land residents not in touch with that mumbo-jumbo, here, eat this funnel cake: http://mrfire.blogspot.com/2007/02/is-attraction-law.html. Then go on these rides: http://skeptico.blogs.com/skeptico/2007/02/the_law_of_attr.html and http://blairwarren.com/blog/item/does_loa_work/. And I hope you don’t barf. Because I’m fixed on the idea of adding to the drivel on this LOA topic and it’d be more pleasant if those who chose to stick around here were strong, downright stalwart, or at least good sports. Take a Pepcid® anyway.
.
And then check out these statements by the late, successful businessman and author, Charles Haanel:
“The Universal Mind is not only intelligence, but it is substance, and this substance is the attractive force which brings electrons together by the law of attraction so they form atoms; the atoms in turn are brought together by the same law and form molecules; molecules take objective forms and so we find that the law is the creative force behind every manifestation, not only of atoms, but of worlds, of the Universe, of everything of which the imagination can form any conception.”
.
“To become conscious of this power is to become a ‘live wire.’ The Universe is the live wire. It carries power sufficient to meet every situation in the life of every individual. When the individual mind touches the Universal Mind, it receives all its power.”
This posthumous material and some of the stuff that living physicists John Hagelin and Fred Alan Wolf contributed to the book The Secret interested me the most. These guys insert strangle-proof words like “tend to” and “begins to” in their statements:
“So we may be very positive in our outlook and orientation and we tend to attract positive people and positive events and circumstances. When we’re very negative in our orientation or very angry, in which case we tend to attract negative, angry people and negative, angry circumstances.”  Hagelin
.
“Quantum physics really begins to point to this discovery. It says that you can’t have a Universe without mind entering into it, and that the mind is actually shaping the very thing that is being perceived.”  Wolf
These words pussyfoot more palatably amongst reality-thinkers and truth-seekers. They are more the ushers of ideas for consideration than the plaid-jacketed pummels from plastically self-made-and-titled self-help and spiritual gurus. Philosopher Bob Proctor, god love him, is The Secret’s worst offender in that area:
“See yourself living in abundance and you will attract it. It works every time, with every person.”
.
“You will attract everything that you require. If it’s money you need you will attract it. If it’s people you need you’ll attract it…it literally moves into physical reality with and through you. And it does that by law.”
Ack! Now them’s some strong words that put me on the snake oil defensive. So in that respect, a “Good on ya!” to Rhonda Byrne, the compiler of The Secret, for strategically balancing her material in purporting the scientific-ness of the LOA by injecting titled physicists into her multi-millions-reaping Petri dish! I don’t buy it. Come clean like mud: the LOA is a New Age theory. And Ms. Byrne is a businesswoman who saw an opportunity.
I have to say I’m glad she did. Because there’s a part of me that wants Haanel’s ideas to be truths, that wants the LOA to be a psychological tool that works. In addition to Hagelin and Wolf, I want to be open to what other of The Secret’s degreed and/or hard-working believables like Ben Johnson, Loral Langemeier, John Gray, and Denis Waitley have to say. I want to believe that the Chicken Soup for the Soul-man, Jack Canfield, might’ve been an $8,000 per year loser if not for learning about the LOA from his mentor, W. Clement Stone. And I want to believe it could work for me as well.
Roll your eyes or nod in agreement, it matters not. I’ve already made the decision to throw myself wholeheartedly into my own Petri dish which will cost you nothing…financially. Everything else is at your own risk. And right up front, in case this site catches the eyes of any jot-and-tittle sticklers who have a tendency to annoy with their sterile scientific semantics, I’ll emphasize the obvious, that this is no controlled experiment. It’s a whimsical foray for my edification and probably mostly your amusement.
The creators of and participants in The Secret suggest (except for Bob who is certain) that anyone can successfully work the LOA, that is, apply the LOA theory to their everyday life practices such that they achieve what they desire to achieve. The experiment will revolve around that suggestion and my reaction to it which is, very basically, “Oh, really?” Because right away I see a big ol’ red flag flapping.
Since a prerequisite of the LOA is that its practitioners predominantly generate genuinely good, positive, loving, and abundant feelings, I admit doubt as to whether someone with really bad DNA could work it successfully or even at all, i.e. if depression, addiction, ADD, ADHD, obesity, aggression, etc. were in our genes and affecting our thoughts and behavior, what then are our odds of success? In these cases I would imagine even the first sense of the word success, “the achievement of something desired, planned, or attempted” could be a challenge, never mind the second sense, “the gaining of fame or prosperity” (definitions courtesy of my favorite on-line dictionary at http://www.thefreedictionary.com/).
.
So for now I’ll restrict the question, “Can anyone successfully work the LOA,” to the averagely DNA-challenged middle-of-the-road realm of Joe Blow, the King of Mediocrity. Are there individuals or factions therein who are on the brink of success, that have the right physiological and psychological constitution to, with application of the LOA theory, enable themselves to set and get their goals, to pursue their greatest desire to the point of achieving it?
.
I live and work in Mediocrity, so my conditioned response would be just to laugh. Because here in this vast kingdom I’d say most of us are running a perpetually losing racket of negative thinking. Probably one of our most positive thoughts is that things could be worse, and therefore most of us are just happy we’re not lying toothless and diseased on a park bench covered with a newspaper. Here, looking backward and resting on the laurels of any past glory that just happened to have fallen into our laps, is almost good enough to live on forever, but for the occasional forward glance. Yet the light hurts our eyes! My god what would we do with success? We can’t imagine it so we just don’t bother to entertain the idea of it unless we’re falsely bolstered by Budweiser. It’s a cruel impasse! Or is it? I mean, we do entertain the idea…
.
What’s real? Can a person like me, who tends more toward negative thoughts, toward the darker, glass-is-half-empty side, yet has no history of psychological intervention requiring anti-depressants, successfully work the LOA? Can I switch to a positive mental “channel” as soon as I notice I’m on a negative channel and keep practicing that technique until I’m mostly and then nearly always or always on a positive channel? Can I regularly visualize what I want so artfully and vividly that I feel like I already have it and so begin to glow with a gratefulness that leaves me wide open to attract and notice the people and situations that will accommodate it? Can I do that groundwork that will earn me a ticket out of Mediocrity? Dream on? Wax on, wax off.
.
Think about evolution and human uniqueness. Then recall some of the really far-flung, whacked-out stuff you’ve seen go down during your lifetime. Make sure you check political history during your mental review. Anything’s possible. Stay tuned…if not here, in your head.
2 responses to “Can ANYONE successfully work the LOA?

  1. Is this part of the secret?
    I want an allignment between my desires and my actions. I find that when I set my intentions, an almost immediate reaction (driven by a hidden agenda) steps up to sabbotage me.
    In order to live the secret, do I need to understand and embrace what holds me back (and drags me down)?

  2. Mmmm…an alignment between desires and actions…the dream of that goes down as smooth and as tasty as Three Philosophers! There’s no question about desire and alignment in that instance. If only the Ironman or the Pulitzer were as easy and cherry and malty… Hey, I’m a greenhorn when it comes to “The Secret.” But my understanding of what I’ve read and seen and understood thus far, in relation to your question, is that after one has set an intention to achieve a desire, one’s primary goal is to focus on generating the super-fine feelings of the excitement and the gratitude of having achieved it already. In the book, “The Secret,” on page 54, Bob Doyle says, “Do whatever you have to do to generate the feelings of having it now, and remember them. Whatever you can do to achieve that will help you to literally attract it.” So here we’d be grinning and holding thought-party balloons and it seems logical that delving into the greasy mechanics of the dark thing that wants to see us go down would be like donning cement shoes…and going down. That’s basically what happened to me 12/2 as you can deduce from my 12/3 post. It ain’t easy. But this is another day to give it another shot… If you decide to try it out, too, I wish you the best…and if you’re not too busy reaping success, let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

